Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 26, 2023

Royal Kludge RK71 Mechanical Keyboard Review: Compact Elegance with Versatile Performance

December 26, 2023 0 Comments

The Royal Kludge RK71 is a compact powerhouse, offering a tenkeyless design without compromising on features. It comes with71 keys, along with multi-device Bluetooth connectivity and Wired mode, and RGB lighting options. 


With a focus on portability and versatility, the RK71 promises an elegant solution for users who demand performance on the go. In this review, we'll explore the design, performance, and unique features that set the RK71 apart.



Design and Build Quality:

The Royal Kludge RK71 boasts a sleek and compact design, combining a tenkeyless layout with a slim profile. The keyboard's frame is constructed from durable ABS plastic, ensuring a lightweight build without compromising on overall sturdiness. For a keyboard made of plastic, it does have a nice weight to it of around 642g and it feels really solid.


The low-profile keycaps enhance the aesthetic appeal while contributing to the RK71's compact form factor.

The RK71 typically comes equipped with a variety of switch options, including popular choices like Gateron or Kailh switches. This allows users to tailor the keyboard to their preferred typing experience, whether they favor tactile, clicky, or linear switches. The RGB backlighting adds a touch of flair to the design, and users can customize the lighting effects to suit your preferences.



Performance:

Typing on the RK71 is a satisfying experience. The keyboard provides a good balance of feedback and actuation force, making it suitable for both typing enthusiasts and gamers. The compact layout might require a brief adjustment period for those used to larger keyboards, but it quickly becomes intuitive.


The wireless capability of the RK71 is a game-changer for those who value flexibility. With Bluetooth 3.0 connectivity, this keyboard allows seamless switching between multiple devices. Want to use your keyboard with your laptop, mobile and tablet? Done. The wireless performance is reliable, ensuring a lag-free experience during both casual typing and intense gaming sessions.



Functionality and Features:

The RK71 is not short on features despite its compact size. The keyboard supports N-Key rollover and anti-ghosting, which is essential for gamers and fast typists who require precise and accurate input registration. While dedicated media controls are absent, the compact layout allows for a clean and uncluttered design.


The keyboard also includes a USB-C port for wired connectivity, offering users the flexibility to choose between wireless and wired setups.


If you want to customize the RGB options, that is possible via the software which you have to download.


Overall, the Royal Kludge RK71 Mechanical Keyboard excels in delivering a compact, elegant solution without compromising on performance. Its thoughtful design, customizable switch options, wireless capabilities, and RGB backlighting make it a versatile choice for those who value both style and substance. Whether you're a gamer on the move or a professional seeking a sleek, portable typing solution, the RK71 proves itself as a worthy contender in the competitive world of mechanical keyboards.



Should you buy?

I managed to get this keyboard from the Royal Kludge Offical Shopee Shop at a fairly good price during the Black Friday Sales, and so far I am happy with my Royal Kludge RK71 with red switches. The typing is smooth like butter and the fingers are less tired since they are using less strength to hit to keys. The only downside might be that they are too sensitive but after some getting used to it it's really good to use. 


I also managed to replace the keycaps with some really adorable Spy x Family ones from Shopee since it was the sales period so I gave myself a Christmas present.  The process to remove the keycaps were effortless and not musch strength was used - it was a therapeutic process. 


There are vouchers and sales at Shopee and it is one of my favorite platforms to buy things from. So if you are interested in getting one for yourself or even check out some really adorable keycaps, check out below!



Here's a video review I found which encapsulates the written points above: 

Thursday, November 23, 2023

Quantium Solutions - The worst Logistics and Shipping Company

November 23, 2023 0 Comments

Remember my Quantium Solutions Postal Problems


Well, there's been some interesting and new developments. Right after the seller, PlayAsia, affirmed that the parcel was lost and offered to either reship or refund, miraculously on the same day about 3 hours after their response, there was an update!


Like magic they suddenly found the parcel which was sitting there for days on end, processed it and shipped it out the next working day... Wow just simply wow... where did all that efficiency go on 26 October?


The update was that the shipment was sent to the postal operator. So it was sitting around being "lodged" with the postal operator since 26 October 2023 with no updates, and on the very day the seller responded to me they decided to update the information that the very same parcel which lodged with said postal operator had it's information sent to the very same postal operator, got processed and I received it the next day?


But wait... isn't Quantium Solutions supposed to be part of SingPost, so why the horrible delay in process when they are affiliated and lack of transparancy?


I've had things ordered from overseas before and sent through SingPost and the updates, along with delivery times were definitely not as dismal. How is Quantium Solutions still in operation baffles me. If the fact they are affiliate with SingPost but there seems to be no common database or process for the handover is a red flag and super sus.


Don't even think of getting support from  them, as Quantium Solutions is non-responsive and hopeless. And if you think you could try getting some help from SingPost... well they just make it a lot complicated and difficult for you to contact them to get assistance on such matters. 


PlayAsia being the seller and the one who (unfortunately) engaged the services of Quantium Solutions were much more supportive and responsive. They actually provided a resolution and updates where they could. This was very much appreciated. They must have initiated a process which propelled the movement in updates from a nonchalant Quantium Solutions, and probably Singpost team. Otherwise the timing of how fast it suddenly got processed and delivered was literally magic... and not the good kind either.


It is undeniable that there is a gap in the process between Quantium Solutions and SingPost.  As a buyer it was really a bad experience with Quantium Solutions, and I will keep a look out to avoid this logistics / shipping coming as much as possible.


As for PlayAsia, I might give them another chance if there is something I really like from their site. After all it was not totally on them the parcel was lodged in Singapore with no updates when it had actually reach it's destination country. I cannot even imagine how it must be like for those who are living in countries further away. 


Seriously, if you are are seller please don't use Quantium Solutions!

Monday, November 20, 2023

Review: Pokemon Snap (Nintendo Switch)

November 20, 2023 0 Comments

Pokemon fans, both old and new, can easily get into playing Pokemon Snap for the Nintendo Switch. This sequel to the classic N64 game from 1999 promises a fresh take on photography and adventure in the Pokemon universe. As an avid Pokémon enthusiast and a photography enthusiast myself, I couldn't wait to dive into this game and see if it lives up to the hype. In this review, I'll share my thoughts on Pokemon Snap for the Nintendo Switch.


Pokemon Snap for the Nintendo Switch is an absolute visual treat for the eyes. The game takes full advantage of the Switch's hardware capabilities, offering stunningly detailed and vibrant environments. Each level, referred to as an "island," is brimming with life and charm. 


The Pokemon themselves are beautifully animated, and their behaviors and interactions feel incredibly authentic. You'll be awestruck by the picturesque landscapes, whether you're exploring dense jungles, shimmering oceans, or icy tundras. The level of detail and creativity put into each island truly captures the essence of the Pokemon world.



Gameplay:

The heart of Pokemon Snap is, of course, photography. You will be embarking on expeditions guided by Professor Mirror, tasked with capturing the perfect shots of Pokemon in their natural habitats. The game encourages you to be patient, observant, and creative. 


Your photo expedition begins with just a camera, but as you progress, you'll unlock a set of handy tools to enhance your photography experience. These tools include edible fluffruit, luminescent illumina orbs, a music player, a scanning feature to elicit unique reactions, and an accelerator to keep up with swift Pokemon. While each tool has its uses, the illumina orbs stand out as the most unexpected. They can activate crystabloom flowers, luring Pokemonor even altering the course dynamics. Additionally, you can throw illumina orbs directly at Pokemon, causing them to radiate with a captivating glow. While many Pokemon may not react significantly to the orbs, a select few will surprise you with their responses.


The mechanics are pretty easy to grasp, making it accessible to players of all ages and skill levels. The challenge lies in taking the best shots. There's a rewarding sense of accomplishment when you finally get that perfect picture of a Pokemon in action; it's all about timing which is challenging to get at times.


Although I have to add that while the mechanics are relatively easy, if you are prone to motion sickness then go slow or play in short bursts rather than a long session. I initially played for more than an hour and found myself dizzy with maneuvering the camera Pokemon; espcially when it was docked. I found that sessions of 30 minutes or less were much better.


That said, one of the highlights of Pokemon Snap is the wide variety of Pokemon you will encounter. From the beloved classics like Pikachu and Charizard to newer additions, the game offers a diverse roster of creatures to photograph. As you progress, you'll unlock new areas and behaviors, adding a layer of excitement and anticipation to each playthrough



Exploration and Discovery:

One of the most enjoyable aspects of  Pokemon Snap is the sense of exploration and discovery. You never know what you might find around the next corner or beyond that dense thicket. The game encourages multiple playthroughs as you strive to capture every Pokemon species and observe unique interactions. This adds replayability and depth to the experience, making you want to return to the islands time and again.



Interaction with Pokémon:

In addition to capturing photos, you can also interact with Pokemon by tossing them Fluffruit (fruity snacks) or playing music to get playful reactions. These interactions add a layer of charm and unpredictability to the game. It's adorable to see how different Pokemon react to your presence and the offerings you provide.



Online Features:

The online features of  Pokemon Snap enhance the sense of community among players. You can share your favorite photos, compete in ranking battles (for the best photo of course), and even see the photos taken by others in your friend list. It's a fantastic way to connect with fellow Pokemon enthusiasts and compare your photography skills.


Verdict: 3/5

In the end, Pokemon Snap  for the Nintendo Switch delivers a delightful experience. It successfully captures the magic of the Pokemon world and combines it with the joy of photography. The beautiful visuals, engaging gameplay, and the sheer number of Pokemon to discover make it a must-play for fans of the franchise. 


Whether you're a long-time Pokémon Trainer or a newcomer, Pokemon Snap is a game that will make you feel like a part of the Pokémon world. So grab your camera and embark on a memorable journey to snap 'em all!



Should you get it?

While Pokemon Snap for the Nintendo Switch is generally well-received, it's essential to acknowledge that no game is without its flaws. Some potential drawbacks include:

  1. Limited Gameplay Depth: "Pokémon Snap" primarily focuses on photography and exploration. If you're looking for traditional Pokémon battles and deep RPG elements, you may find the gameplay somewhat shallow.
  2. Repetition: The game encourages replayability by revisiting the same areas multiple times to capture different Pokémon behaviors. Some players might find this repetition less engaging over time.
  3. Short Playtime: The main storyline of "Pokémon Snap" can be completed relatively quickly, leaving some players wishing for more content or longer gameplay.
  4. Lack of Evolution: Unlike the original N64 game, "Pokémon Snap" for the Nintendo Switch does not feature the ability for Pokémon to evolve, which might disappoint some fans who enjoyed this feature in the original.
  5. Limited Multiplayer Interaction: While there are online features for sharing photos and competing in ranking battles, the multiplayer interactions are somewhat limited, and players cannot directly interact with each other in real-time.
  6. It's important to note that the appeal of "Pokémon Snap" largely depends on your expectations and what you enjoy in a game. While it may have some shortcomings, it excels in delivering a unique and enjoyable photography and exploration experience in the Pokémon universe.



Monday, November 6, 2023

Quantium Solutions Postal Problems

November 06, 2023 0 Comments

As technology continues to advance, so does the realm of online shopping and shipping. Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, it appears that everything has accelerated, from the swift delivery of food to the seamless online shopping experience and the rapid distribution of goods. Everything except for Quantium Solutions, they should change their name to Quantium Problems instead. 


Considering the potential of blockchain technology, it's disconcerting that Quantium Solutions, seemingly a part of the SingPost Group, appears to be falling behind in technological advancements. The order from PlayAsia (my very first!) was dispatched on October 4, 2023, and it took 17 days to finally reach its destination in Singapore. However, it took 2 days to reach SingPost and it has been stuck in that status since.... and they are telling me that cannot tell where it is!

Upon emailing the Singapore branch of Quantium Solutions, they replied saying to "Based on the record, the item was shipped out via Quantium Solutions Hong Kong to Singapore. However, we do not have any record in our system. Please reach out to your merchant/sender or the origin shipper,  Quantium Solutions Hong Kong for more details and further assistance."


Really Quantium Solutions? You could tell me where it was shipped out from, but cannot tell me where it is now that it has arrived in it's destination which should be under your purview? 


I've ordered from Bokksu and they deliver from Japan. When the parcel arrives in Singapore, dispatch is done by SingPost, and I usually received it within 2-3 weeks from dispatch. So that works out to be an average of 15 working days, not more than 21 days and counting. Even Amazon Prime shipping from the US to Singapore has arrived faster than this, with frequent status updates. And let's not even take about anything bought from China on Lazada or Shopee, where you are updated on the status constantly.


It's just Hong Kong to Singapore, not Hong Kong to the Netherlands. Plus, the status was updated to have already arrived in destination N days ago with no new updates and when it will be delivered.


But what's worse is that Quantium Solutions Singapore is telling me that they cannot find it in their system as it was sent out by the Hong Kong Branch. Since they are basically the same company just in different locations, where is the blockchain technology or visibility  to check for such deliveries?


I would say it's a red flag when the same entity does not seem to use the same system for something as simple as shipping. The reviews on Google and on the internet for this company also reflects the experience.


How is this company still in existence is a mystery - tracking is bad, customer service is hopeless and their system is not even integrated! Oh and did I mention that Quantium Solutions is a subsidiary of SingPost and yet their tracking system is hopeless.


Thankfully the seller, PlayAsia, has replied me saying that they would proceed with the full refund or reshipment so let's see how that goes. I would have to say that the customer support for PlayAsia has really been good and supportive, unlike Quantium Solutions.


Have you encountered Quantum Solutions with you shipping and deliveries? If so what are your thoughts on it?

Monday, October 23, 2023

Mini Review: Dicey Dungeons Nintendo Switch Game

October 23, 2023 0 Comments

Dicey Dungeons is a unique and captivating addition to the Nintendo Switch game library. Developed by Terry Cavanagh, the game combines elements of roguelike, deck-building, and strategy. As a result, you end up having thrilling and addictive experience in the most laidback form ever.

To me, one of the standout features of Dicey Dungeons is its charmingly simple yet stylish art design. The game's colorful, pixelated graphics and catchy chiptune soundtrack create a delightful and nostalgic atmosphere that's hard to resist. Together, both the visual and auditory appeal adds a layer of immersion to the gameplay.


I went and got myself a physical copy of the game from Super Rare Games, and although it was a little pricey I am totally enjoying myself!


What's it about?

At its core, Dicey Dungeons is all about strategy with a little randomness thrown in (you are only limited to the choices you are given). 

As a player, you will have to navigate a series of grid-based dungeons, battling various monsters using dice as your primary resource. The brilliance lies in the dice-rolling mechanics, where each piece of equipment you acquire is represented by a set of dice with specific abilities.  

To get started, you play as one of the show's six adorable contestants, all of whom are turned into dice for Lady Luck's show. To progress, you need to complete episodes by defeating enemies, opening chests and visiting stores while building up a deck of cards capable of defeating an end boss. 

One of the end bosses
The dungeons are presented as a series of nodes you can move between: there are shops, health-restoring apples, and enemies placed on several of them. To progress you need to fight enemies and reach the node that features the trap door to the next floor. The challenge is to optimize your dice to deal damage, heal, and overcome your adversaries, all while managing limited resources.
Example of how a dungeon and nodes looks like
Dicey Dungeons strikes a near-perfect balance between accessibility and depth. New players can grasp the basics quickly, while seasoned gamers will appreciate the strategic layers and decision-making involved in each encounter. 

As you progress, you will be able to unlock different characters. Each character has their own unique abilities and playstyles, enhancing the replayability and variety of the game so you will never get bored.
Choose carefully as there is a limited amount of space in your bag pack.
The roguelike nature of Dicey Dungeons keeps you coming back for more. Permanent upgrades and the excitement of unlocking new equipment and abilities provide a satisfying sense of progression. However, failure is frequent, and the random element of dice rolling can be unforgiving at times. This adds an addictive element, and tempts you to try one more time to  pass that episode. The rolling dice mechanics stay the same, but no two rolls are ever the same and each character uses them so uniquely that it is never the same experience each time you play.


Verdict: 4/5

While Dicey Dungeons is undoubtedly enjoyable, some players might find the difficulty spikes in later levels a bit frustrating, as the game's randomness can occasionally lead to unwinnable situations. Nevertheless, the sense of accomplishment when you finally conquer a tough floor is immensely gratifying. 

If you enjoy strategic gameplay, roguelike challenges, and quirky, retro aesthetics then Dicey Dungeons is a must-play! Its innovative mechanics, engaging strategy, and charming presentation make it a standout addition to the your game library. Despite occasional frustrations, the overall experience is highly rewarding, making Dicey Dungeons a game you'll want to keep rolling the dice in, time and time again.

What's even better is that there is a sale on the Nintendo eShop and the game is going for USD$1.99 (until 2 November 2023!).

If you prefer to have a physical copy, then get yours at Super Rare Games!

Wednesday, August 16, 2023

First Impresssions: Hello Kitty Island Adventure (Apple Arcade)

August 16, 2023 0 Comments

Embark on a cozy adventure with Hello Kitty and Friends and restore an abandoned island to its former glory!


If you haven't already heard, Hello Kitty Island Adventure launched exclusively on 28 July 2023 on the Apple Arcade platform. 



The aim of the game is simple: you start off by creating an avatar to join Hello Kitty and Friends on a flight to an island. Things take a turn for excitement when Hello Kitty's attempt to treat everyone to some baked cupcakes causes the plane to hit turbulence and everyone has to parachute out of there asap! 


You land on the mysterious island, which was supposed to be your original destination, except now you had to crash land and your first goal is to reunite with everyone, as they’ve been scattered about the place. 

Doesn't my avatar have Animal Crossing vibes?

Your second goal is to unlock the mysteries of the island and return the place to its thriving glory days.  As you progress and explore the island, you will be able to slowly reveal recipes as you test out different combinations of ingredients. The more elaborate recipes can even be unlocked through friendship levels.


[Hello Kitty Island Adventure: All Recipes (& How To Make Them)]


There are tasks to complete, lots of them. Tasks to track down things for friends, build things using materials found on the island and a crafting table, to solve Zelda Breath of the Wild-inspired dungeons (albeit far simpler ones), and puzzles to unlock more parts of the island.


In addition to tasks, there are minigames to play, fishing and bug catching to indulge in; even photography tasks to complete! There's a whole lot activities to be done, and while similar to Animal Crossing, it is not exactly the same: you get to be involved in setting up the economy and society of the island to make it a success.



First Impressions

What I have been up to so far

Since I happened to have an activation for Apple Arcade for 3 months, I decided to download and try this adorable game. 


I initially installed it on my iPad Pro with the intention of playing with my pro-controller. But for some reason I was not able to connect them, so I switched over to play on my iPhone instead using just the touch screen controls.



The touch screen controls are a bit frustrating as they are either too sensitive or not at all. When I want to run, I end up jumping or  slow walking in the wrong directing, when I want to jump I never end up when I want to land. In total, I played less than 10 minutes as the navigation experience was subpar.


After updating my iPad Pro to iOS16.6, I was finally able to connect my pro-controller! And the difference is as clear as night and day! I am now more invested in playing Hello Kitty Island Adventure for the next 3 months to see if it's worth getting in the long run (or perhaps it might come out on the Nintendo Switch?). 


So much better playing on a bigger screen. This weekend, I'll try playing it on my Mac and pro-controller. 😍



Verdict: 4/5

The game aesthetics are both simple, but effective and adorable! 


Hello Kitty Island Adventure is a  massive place to explore, with regions being broken up into various themes – volcano area, swamp area etc). Each of those regions are each a colorful feast for the eyes, and makes exploring and playing around in each of them bright and fun. I cannot wait to each one of them and unlock more outfits options too!


Have you downloaded and played Hello Kitty Island Adventure? What are your thoughts on it? Let us know in the comments below! 


Monday, August 7, 2023

Toki Tori Review (Nintendo Switch)

August 07, 2023 0 Comments

Toki Tori was originally about two decades ago in 2001 on the Game Boy Color, before seeing re-masters of sorts appear on the Wii and Wii U etc... I actually had my first encounter with this game on device called the Palm in the mid 2000s.


So imagine my delight when I got the Nintendo Switch and saw it on the e-shop... on sale! Of course I had to get it and relive my childhood.


It's a very rewarding yet challenging and fun puzzle game. You are tasked with guiding Toki Tori around 5 worlds and their multiple levels. To complete each level and progress to the next, you need to collect all of the eggs. All of this is to be accomplished with a set number of moves and abilities such as building bridges, freezing the enemies, and using blocks, bubble or teleportation etc... 

The first world is relatively simple and with each world and level you get introduced to new abilities. Of course the more you progress, the more challenging it becomes and solving the puzzle really takes some brain power. Thankfully there are videos online to help you out if you do get stuck on  certain levels and it gets somewhat frustrating as you find yourself sort on one bridge or teleport move to complete the level.


One of the features I love is the rewind button by simply pressing the 'Y' Button! This saves time having to restart the level all over again and you can just continue from where you think you made a mistake. It does bring the frustration level down a little but then having to start again from the beginning: you get to trial run some of the moves and redo them to get the right path to collect all the eggs.

There are 5 worlds which offer a set of regular levels. Once you have cleared the regular levels, the 'hard' and 'bonus' levels are unlocked. Both of these advanced levels are even more challenging and makes you really think out of the box, giving the most well-practiced puzzle experts a brain workout for sure. 


From World 2 onwards, there's a Wildcard option which enables you to pass on to the next level. You can only use this once and once you've spent it  you will need to complete the particular level it was used on in the future to have it returned to you. Of course there is the other alternative to search Google and find the solution online to see what you missed out. 


Toki Tori's difficulty is hard but rewarding when you manage to solve the puzzles: it forces you to plan out and execute each move to exact precision and timing, the wrong move could jeopardize the whole flow which results in a failed level. Unlike other puzzle games which are tricky due to infuriating mechanics which are out of your control, in Toki Tori you have more control per se. 


Some levels are relatively easy but others, especially as you progress, makes you wonder if it actually can be solved or not. The satisfaction comes from having solved or realizing what was the critical step to solve the level. Yes, even if you play cheat and find the solution from the countless of videos available on the internet it is still satisfying. 

Not only are the graphics and animation easy on the eyes, the soundtrack is adorable and catchy! So even if you are stuck on a certain level, it helps to soothe the frustration somewhat. 


Verdict: 4.5/5

Toki Tori is an adorably charming game which is fun and tricky at the same time. It really gives your brain a workout and the sense of satisfaction and accomplishment when is complete each level is indescribable: it's like you feel you gain more intelligence with each level you complete as you are forced  come up with perfect solutions throughout the game. 

It's totally worth the money, more so when it is one sale on the Nintendo e-shop.


So if you love yourself a good puzzle game, or simply want to have it on the Nintendo Switch, you should get it! 

Saturday, August 5, 2023

First Impressions: Pokémon Sleep & Pokémon Go Plus+

August 05, 2023 0 Comments
Do note that this blog post may contain product affiliate links. If you purchase something through a link on this blog post, we may receive a commission, which goes into the upkeep of this blog.

If you haven't heard already, there's a new Pokémon game in town and it is supposed to help you sleep better.  You don't catch Pokémon , but get to befriend them to help you raise a Snorlax each week - the bigger the Snorlax gets, the more rewards you get in game. The more you sleep, the better it is.


Gameplay

Playing is really easy,  all you need to do is sleep using your mobile device with the app or get the Pokémon Go Plus+ to record your sleep. If you don't want to over work (and overheat) your phone's battery, the Pokemon Go Plus+ is a must get! 


Shopee - SGD$79.90

Now on to the gameplay which consists of a bunch of tutorials, guiding you from your first sleep session on getting started and orientated: introducing the Snorlax which you have to feed each week at different locations and get rewards, at the the same time befriending Pokémon to help you gather ingredients for cooking and feeding your Snorlax of the week. 

Unlike the usual Pokémon games where you catch them, in Pokémon Sleep you befriend them instead. So I doubt they are transferrable to the other Pokémon games, and the Snorlex you meet at just for show (or feeding so to say).

Other than that change in catching to befriending, it looks like the levelling system is here to stay: not only do Snorlax and each Pokémon have a levelling system, but so do the Recipes for cooking. The higher the level, the more things you can cook and more skills/capabilities your befriended Pokémon unlock to feed your Snorlax of the week. 


Then you have Incenses, and rare Pokémon with feed requirements, and evolution items to buy etc… For evolving the Pokémon you have befriended you'd need items and candy. So the more you sleep, the more rewards... It's not called Pokémon  SLEEP for nothing. 😁


As with the games series, you will work with a professor to studying the sleep patterns and gain rewards.

Meet Professor Neroli
Did you know, neroli is an essential oil that comes from bitter orange trees?

According to the app, the ideal amount of sleep is 8.5 hours. You can do 2 sleep sessions each day but they must be 90 minutes minimum. You set an alarm within Pokémon Sleep to remind you to go to bed and then set one to wake you up. There's also the function to play relaxing sounds to help you doze off.

If you use your mobile phone, not only is your battery life at risk so is your privacy -  the game will record your sounds (which are supposed to be only saved locally and wiped every 24 hours) to determine what mode of sleep you are in. Hence the reason why I prefer using the  Pokémon Go Plus+ as the app does not need to be running to use and it can easily sync the sleep data in the morning via bluetooth.


Types of Sleep

There are 3 types of sleep: Dozing, Slumbering and Snoozing. 

Based on the duration of your sleep at the different stages, various Pokémon will spawn the morning after. They have multiple ‘Sleep Styles’, so in terms of collecting there's the Pokémon, their sleeping styles and did I mention you can even befriend Shiny Pokémon?

You use biscuits to befriend the Pokémon and add them to your team. They will then collect the berries and ingredients to feed the Snorlax and for cooking recipes.


Certain types show up based on the quality of your sleep. You are initially gifted a Pikachu and if you use Pokémon Go Plus+ you get an extra Pikachu helper wearing a nightcap. 

And that's how Pokémon Sleep works. It also includes tips about healthy eating and other aspects of your life, especially about sleep. If you are looking for something to motivate you to improve the quality of your sleep by gamifying it, then this is the perfect app.


There's the monetization part of the game but I find it pointless, as I see it more as a motivation for better sleep rather than grinding and playing to get the highest level per se. If you want to grind and play something more play worthy then Pokémon Go would be a better choice. Pokémon Sleep is more a lifestyle enhancement app which gamifies sleeping - perfect if you want to reward your sleep but not really worth paying anything in-game for. 


Have you played  Pokémon Sleep? Let us know in the comments below! 

Friday, May 19, 2023

Mini Review: Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion Nintendo Switch Game

May 19, 2023 0 Comments

 

About The Game

Take control of an adorable turnip who happens to be an absolute menace to society. After failing to pay taxes and getting evicted from your home, you must go on an epic quest to pay back your massive debt to Mayor Onion. Garden tools to solve plantastic puzzles, meet eccentric vegetables and fruits, and take on treacherous fights. Along the journey uncover what’s spoiling this garden community and rise to tear down the corrupt vegetable government!


So... I came across this game on sale the other day for just under USD$3 and the premise seemed interesting and adorable at the same time. Needless to say I downloaded the game and have started play, hence this is a mini review on the experience so far. 


Playing as a turnip trying to evade taxes and defeat a seeming corrupted onion as mayor seems fun a vegan world. As Turnip Boy, you can can evade as much tax as you like without any real world repercussions; it is a game after all. 


It's one of the cutest games I've played and the gameplay is easy to grasp for the most part. Once you manage to get the hang of the controls, you'd be defeating baddies and evading taxes like a pro. 

Some captures from my game progress so far

At start of the game Turnip Boy obtains a ‘soil sword’ along with a watering can.  The sword is used to attack against fearsome snails, piglets, and other dangerous but adorable (mostly vegetable eating) animals. The water can can also help water bombs, put too much water and you'd lose a few hearts. Alternating between the sword and watering can can be a bit cumbersome, but once you get used to it, it's a breeze. There are 2 options to alternate between items 


  1. Use the ‘L’ and ‘R’ is easy, OR
  2. Holding down ‘Y’ to access to inventory


There's also a move to throw the bombs in the direction you want to attack animals or blast doorways to open pathways. Time it right after you use the water can and kick it in the direction you want or risk being bombed yourself. 


The whole tax evasion thing is the theme, and the aim is to repay back the onion mayor by doing various tasks. While exploring the world, the other characters encountered will also give you mini-tasks with mini awards / achievements. It's relatively simple: task is given, go to location, complete task and return for the reward. The reward could be new items or abilities. 


There's a wide range of characters you’ll come across during your travels, all of which comprise different fruits or vegetables (it is a vegan world after all). There's dialogue and you can follow the storyline as well. It would have been better if there was indication of which characters would give you tasks and others just there for comic relieve. Having to approach each character to see if a bit cumbersome and can be a bit frustrating since you cannot skip past some pointless conversations. If you take your time to read each one, it is still a nice adorable little game. 


For those looking for something adorable and relatively easy, Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is definitely worth a try. That said, although Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is not too difficult, some of the boss battles and puzzles where you have to make use of multiple items may well pose a good challenge.


Verdict: 4/5

Overall, Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a delightful vegan adventure and I cannot wait to complete the game! 


If you’re after a chill and adorable game with a bit of RPG action, then look no further; this is a great way to get started and also get more digital veggies into your gaming diet.


Have you played Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion? If yes, let us know in the comments below how much you liked it (or not)! 


You can get the physical copy to keep or re-sale after you are done, or get it from the Nintendo e-shop when there're sales.

Wednesday, May 3, 2023

IINE Splatoon Nintendo Switch Joypad Review

May 03, 2023 0 Comments

Do note that this blog post may contain product affiliate links. If you purchase something through a link on this blog post, we may receive a commission, which goes into the upkeep of this blog.


Nintendo has made it difficult for official third-party Switch controllers to really shine (think Hori). In fact the other 3rd party OEM controllers do a much better job at a lower or equivalent price. I recently got myself some pretty looking Hori Split Pad Compact, the Mint Green x White version.


In essence, the Hori Split Pad Compact acts just like the Nintendo joycons - they slot right into the sides of a Nintendo Switch where the joycons would usually do. But unlike their Nintendo counterpart, the Hori series of controllers do not have an internal battery and cannot be used wirelessly. In addition to that, they also do not have Motion Controls, HD Rumble, NFC, or IR camera.

So while the buttons were tactile enough and the experience not too bad, having to remove my Switch casing each time I want to use it and the fact that it saps the battery out of the Switch.


[HORI Nintendo Switch Split Pad Compact Review]


Then I came across the IINE Nintendo Switch Joypad, and it even had the Splatoon design. Needless to say I was sold and got myself one to try. 


The packaging was nice and the lighting is pretty. The best part is that I do not need to remove my Switch casing each time I want to use these. They slide on nicely and have a good ergonomic grip which are comfortable on the hands. Buttons are also quite response and the lights add on an additional user experience.




For about the same price or even lesser when there are sales, I would choose IINE Joypads over Hori, simply for it's price competitiveness and similar experience.


Have you tried either products, if so which is your preference?  Let us know in the comments below!